Skip to content

Misnomer

by on March 22, 2013

This mind of mine, awakes to glimpse the reality
That all things true and sure walked away with time
An illusion of false hopes is what I got instead
As I fade away into my metaphorical rhyme

And so, I begin to wonder –

Aren’t we simply the sum of our actions?
A glimpse of our deeds unique;
Distinct yet, vaguely lost
In the blurring of our mindless pique

Where do you put your faith?
How do you strive to hope?
In an unsympathetic world
Where each soul fights to cope

Realization dawns upon me
That we are truly alone
Each man his finest confidante
Each the king of his throne

And yet, we live in a blemished world.

How can you fight yourself?
You have me all confused
A side of you might win, sure, but
Isn’t the other bound to lose?

This treason against yourself
This unbeatable fight
Solemn, silent and grave
This unbearable sight

So what of this dilemma?
These crossroads, irksome and mangled
And all the routes to escape
Are choked up and strangled

This mind of mine, awakes to glimpse the reality
That all things true and sure walked away with time
An illusion of false hopes is what I got instead
As I fade away into my metaphorical rhyme

I have no answer to give
No solution to provide
Only hope gives me strength
To seal this divide

And, even hoping seems futile;
In these dismal bouts of fray
Procrastinating judgment –
I simply walk away

I leave behind
A stretch of green
The grass ahead
Is but a dream

What was and what is
It’s all a haze
The need to resolve
A momentous craze

So many wrongs to right
Shards to reconcile
Putting together myself
Might take a while

As the breeze stops blowing
And the storm begins
When the shade ends
It’s time to make amends

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Drinking Tips for Teens

Creative humour, satire and other bad ideas by Ross Murray, an author living in the Eastern Townships of Quebec, Canada. Is it truth or fiction? Only his hairdresser knows for sure.

snaughty thoughts

“You know what I’d like to be? I mean if I had my goddam choice?”

Doing Science To Stuff

Some things just need science done to them.

Richard Levesque

Science Fiction and Paranormal Fantasy with a Noir Twist

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

Ashley Cameron's Writing

A collection of short stories and poems written by yours truly

Read A Little Poetry

Listen, are you breathing just a little, and calling it a life? ― Mary Oliver

Sloppy Etymology

"Do we simply stare at what is horrible and forgive it?" - Richard Siken

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

